Can You Explain Your Eating Disorder To Me?

I ask, because I am not sure that I can!

I have found that it is very difficult for me to explain to someone who has never experienced an eating disorder how deeply engrained TED is in my life.  I first have to explain why I have called my eating disorder, TED. For me, my eating disorder started out as a way to punish myself when I failed to achieve what I thought was within my potentially to reach. At each failure, this voice in my head constantly would remind me that I am not going to amount to anything, I am not loveable, and most importantly that He is the only one that understands me and will love me despite all my faults. And, of course, the only thing I can do to make it better is to punish myself. He is so real to me that I have given him an idenity. But it is important to say that I only have given him an identity since starting on the road to recovery. When I was in a position where I had to try to explain to people why I did what I did, it sounded a bit “crazy” to say that I felt like I should be punished for not achieving something (ex: an 100% on my test, the perfect # on the scale, just anything I did not accomplish) because deep down, I knew that I should not be punished. No one else expected me to be perfect, except for me and TED. For whatever reason, I accepted that the fact that if I punished myself I would learn to do better the next time or someone would love me more.

This topic has been very difficult for me to put into words what I experience on a day-to-day basis. I feel that I have hit a wall in my forward progress because I cannot. I believe that it is important for me to be able to put words to the devistation that this eating disorder has caused me. Maybe as I move forward in this journey, I can.

About iltyp4u

I would like to introduce myself to you. My name is Angel. On the surface I look very successful and happy. I have married my soul mate, I have one daughter and two beautiful grandchildren, and I own/operate a successful at-home business. But, I do have a skeleton in my closet and his name is TED. I know that many of you also have some form of this skeleton, and my hope is that in my recovery, I can help at least one other person through recovery. Who or what is TED you ask? TED is the name that I have given to my Eating Disorder. If you or someone you know suffers from an eating disorder, I hope that you/they find this blog helpful. Please check back for updates about my progress/struggles. Also, feel free to comment on your progress. Follow me on twitter: @iltyp4u Follow me on FB: www.facebook.com/triumphfromted
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

