Thankful For My Friends.

Yesterday was the day I truly opened myself up. I actually put a post on FB to view my blog. I am sure many people were shocked by what they read as I have only shared this with a select handful of people. For the first 27 years, I truly kept this to myself sharing with no one. This was my little secret. I was afraid if I shared it with anyone they would want to take it away. I did not want to lose TED or even share him with others. Even today, I am not 100% ready to let go, but I am 100% ready to learn how to let go. I am ready to start listening to my Real friends, not TED.

In looking back over the last 30 years I have lost so much! First and foremost is MYSELF. I am not sure if what I think is truly me thinking or what TED has told me to think. I am sure this must sound crazy. When one talks about “follow your gut”, TED is my gut. Or “Let your conscious be your guide”, TED is my conscious (albeit probably the devil and not the angel). I think this is so engrained in me because it started at such a young age. I have to admit that it does not even make sense to me.

I have dedicated my life to keeping TED happy, because I was convinced that this is what would make me happy. I am happy to say that I might be wrong. I know that just starting to believe this wont undo 30 years of harmful thinking. It will take time. I know that having friends in my corner is going to be beneficial.

About iltyp4u

I would like to introduce myself to you. My name is Angel. On the surface I look very successful and happy. I have married my soul mate, I have one daughter and two beautiful grandchildren, and I own/operate a successful at-home business. But, I do have a skeleton in my closet and his name is TED. I know that many of you also have some form of this skeleton, and my hope is that in my recovery, I can help at least one other person through recovery. Who or what is TED you ask? TED is the name that I have given to my Eating Disorder. If you or someone you know suffers from an eating disorder, I hope that you/they find this blog helpful. Please check back for updates about my progress/struggles. Also, feel free to comment on your progress. Follow me on twitter: @iltyp4u Follow me on FB: www.facebook.com/triumphfromted
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

