My Ongoing Battle.

I am ready for recovery but please don’t make me give up my eating disorder!

This is just one example of how my mind works. I guess that’s what they mean by the phrase “Have your cake and eat it too”. Its funny to me that they use the word cake to make their point. I find that I am trying to come up with excuses of why recovery is not for me or how I think I can control my eating disorder because I have the tools. I know both of these statements are me trying to sabatoge my recovery. I want to do the hard work, but I feel like I should receive immediate results for my hard work. I am finding that it is just not going to work that way.

A DAILY BATTLE – The Scale (No matter the number because it is never good enough) TED: Okay, I am not going to eat today. ME: No, Angel, you have to eat. You are not allowed to restrict any more. TED: I need to restrict until I get my weight down to where I am happy. ME: Angel, just be more careful about what you eat. TED: I can’t do it. Please just let me restrict.

MY ACTIONS: When people are around, then I eat. When I am left alone, I just eat minimal calorie count – enough to be able to say I ate! No one asks “how much did you eat” because that would be like asking a woman their age, you just don’t do it.
How do I make TED go away? If he never goes away, how can I learn not to listen to him? My only answer right now is – just take it one day at a time!

About iltyp4u

I would like to introduce myself to you. My name is Angel. On the surface I look very successful and happy. I have married my soul mate, I have one daughter and two beautiful grandchildren, and I own/operate a successful at-home business. But, I do have a skeleton in my closet and his name is TED. I know that many of you also have some form of this skeleton, and my hope is that in my recovery, I can help at least one other person through recovery. Who or what is TED you ask? TED is the name that I have given to my Eating Disorder. If you or someone you know suffers from an eating disorder, I hope that you/they find this blog helpful. Please check back for updates about my progress/struggles. Also, feel free to comment on your progress. Follow me on twitter: @iltyp4u Follow me on FB: www.facebook.com/triumphfromted
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

