A Brick Wall

When I first entered recovery, I repeatedly thought that if I could find a person who could tell me what to eat (meal by meal/day by day), how to exercise, and even what to think, it would make my recovery more successful. One year later, I am still looking for this person. Over the last two years, I have been reading self-help books thinking this would help. I have a lot of the Biggest Loser books including “30-day Jump Start” and many of the cookbooks trying to do this for myself. I still was not successful. Part of it could be that at the time I read these, I was not committed to the process so I was not successful. I have considered doing the Biggest Loser prepared foods where they send them right to your door. This sounds exactly what I am looking for. This is breakfast, this is lunch, this is dinner…..now just eat it. The problem is, I suffer from Migraines and chronic daily headaches, and prepackaged foods are on my “do not eat list”. So the fear of increasing the frequency of my Migraines has kept me from doing this. And, this leads me back to square one.

 What I am realizing is that I need/want to be this person for myself. So I have started on my road to become this person. I have looked into taking classes on nutrition, cooking (which I really don’t like to do), I have started reading Jillian Michael’s book “Unlimited” – which I LOVE. In this process, I found something called a Health Coach. I was very intrigued. This is what I had been searching for. But I decided I did not want a Health Coach, I wanted to become a Health Coach. I would learn the skills I needed to help me through my recovery and then take these skills to help others with an eating disorder who are searching for this same thing – whether in recovering or standing outside the door waiting for someone to open it.

But here is where my brick wall comes in. The more I have researched, the more confused I have become. Many of the schools sound good on paper but once you dig deeper, you really don’t receive an accredited certification once completed, just a piece of paper to put on the wall that looks official. The schools that offer true certification are geared towards the professionals who already have some kind of degree, which I do not. I am so FRUSTRATED!

If I have decided that I am ready to recover, at least 80% of me, why can’t I do it. I feel completely deflated. I just want to be that person for myself! HELP!!!

About iltyp4u

I would like to introduce myself to you. My name is Angel. On the surface I look very successful and happy. I have married my soul mate, I have one daughter and two beautiful grandchildren, and I own/operate a successful at-home business. But, I do have a skeleton in my closet and his name is TED. I know that many of you also have some form of this skeleton, and my hope is that in my recovery, I can help at least one other person through recovery. Who or what is TED you ask? TED is the name that I have given to my Eating Disorder. If you or someone you know suffers from an eating disorder, I hope that you/they find this blog helpful. Please check back for updates about my progress/struggles. Also, feel free to comment on your progress. Follow me on twitter: @iltyp4u Follow me on FB: www.facebook.com/triumphfromted
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

