Who or What is Your Inspiration?

Everyone is looking for and needs inspiration while on their journey to health. This inspiration comes in many forms. But relying solely on inspiration will not get you where you need to be. What I am learning about my journey, is that 90% of the journey is me putting in the hard work (both mentally and physically). I am learning that you can have all the emotional and physical support in the world, but if you are not actively participating in your health, you are just spinning your wheels.

Who or What is your inspiration? For me, I have been watching Biggest Loser for the last 13 seasons. I have bought and read many of the BL books. I have exercise DVDs from Bob Harper and Jillian Michaels. How can a show about overweight contestants be an inspiration to someone with an eating disorder? Well what I have figured out is that the underlying issues are the same.

  • We both have self-hate for our body
  • Feelings of not deserving better than what we have
  • Inability to break the self-destructive behavior

Even with this inspiration, I have continued to actively participate in my eating disorder. But on December 16, 2011 I made a promise to myself to get healthy. I have made great strides in the right direction. There definitely have been setbacks along the way, but what I am doing differently this time is I am getting back up and starting from where I left off and not from the beginning. I currently am scheduled to run my first 5K on 4/28/2012. I have even been using social outlets to tell me story (i.e. this blog and my Facebook page “Triumph From TED). Last night I attended my first Tweet Party. Ali Vincent (Biggest Loser Season 5) was answering questions from her followers and you know me, I was taking notes.

My Notes

  • You should eat within 30 minutes of getting up.
  • Meals and snacks every three to four hours after breakfast.
  • Measuring your food is an important part of learning how to eat healthy (measuring cups and a food scale)
  • Drinking lots of water is not only healthy, it aids in weight loss.
  • Ali tweeted to me “Consistency is the key…..you can do it!

The road to recovering from my eating disorder is and will be very difficult. But, if I continue to do my 90% – the hard work (working through the emotional and seeing the results by doing the physical) and allow others to do the 10% – the inspiring, I know that recovery is something I can achieve. Thank you for all the people in my life who have decided to join MY 10%!

About iltyp4u

I would like to introduce myself to you. My name is Angel. On the surface I look very successful and happy. I have married my soul mate, I have one daughter and two beautiful grandchildren, and I own/operate a successful at-home business. But, I do have a skeleton in my closet and his name is TED. I know that many of you also have some form of this skeleton, and my hope is that in my recovery, I can help at least one other person through recovery. Who or what is TED you ask? TED is the name that I have given to my Eating Disorder. If you or someone you know suffers from an eating disorder, I hope that you/they find this blog helpful. Please check back for updates about my progress/struggles. Also, feel free to comment on your progress. Follow me on twitter: @iltyp4u Follow me on FB: www.facebook.com/triumphfromted
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

