Wear Gray in May

Today, May 22nd, is Brain Tumor Awareness Day! My whole family dressed in Gray to support and raise awareness. But this blog is to explain why this day is significant to me.

After a 30+ year battle of my own, nothing as serious as having a Brain Tumor, I decided to join the fight in my own recovery from my eating disorder. In February 2012, I had set a goal to run a 5K. This was a huge goal since I only started running in December 2011. I couldn’t even run for 5 minutes straight. Sometimes I set goals that are unattainable so I can fail. For me, failure in my life is what has kept me stuck in my eating disorder.

So, I signed up to run Angels Among Us on April 26. For me, I really picked this race because of its title. You know when your name is in the title, you should be there. That Saturday, I was a mess. I was crying and at one point I almost got back in my car and left. But I did not (mainly because my husband would not have let me). I am standing at the starting line and I knew that this was my make or break moment. In the end, I finished this race, I ran the whole thing, and even set a PR.

But the magic did not happen until after the race. For the last four months, I have been so wrapped up in my own little world that I had lost sight of the big picture. I was amazed by the love and emotion that I felt among complete strangers. When we did the Walk with the Survivors leading the way, I really felt like I was part of a “Family” even though my intention for being there was very selfish. No one judged me or my intentions. On the walk, we talked to Survivors and their family members and they were so appreciative that we were there “no matter the reason”.

Running Angel’s Among Us changed my life, forever. And although I do not personally know anyone who has been affected with a brain tumor, I am honored to have been able to be a part of this very amazing group of people. I have learned to not take life for granted and that my choice to “have an eating disorder” is just that, a choice. I know that I will not wake up tomorrow and be “cured”, but because of this experience, I know that there is hope! All I can do is say Thank You and if I could wear Gray every day to raise awareness, I would because you guys helped save my life.

About iltyp4u

I would like to introduce myself to you. My name is Angel. On the surface I look very successful and happy. I have married my soul mate, I have one daughter and two beautiful grandchildren, and I own/operate a successful at-home business. But, I do have a skeleton in my closet and his name is TED. I know that many of you also have some form of this skeleton, and my hope is that in my recovery, I can help at least one other person through recovery. Who or what is TED you ask? TED is the name that I have given to my Eating Disorder. If you or someone you know suffers from an eating disorder, I hope that you/they find this blog helpful. Please check back for updates about my progress/struggles. Also, feel free to comment on your progress. Follow me on twitter: @iltyp4u Follow me on FB: www.facebook.com/triumphfromted
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

