Addiction

I am into the second week of my new adventure, Couch 2 Healthy.  Everyday is a new topic.  Yesterday was Bad Habit Thursday.  We focus on a habit and try to give you ideas to make healthy changes in your life.  This week we dealt with smoking.  Although, I have never smoked a day in my life, it is very dear to my heart.  Many of my family members smoke.  No matter what your addiction, it is never too late to quit.

I may not be able to relate to the hardship of quitting smoking but I do understand what it is like to have an addiction.  What I have learned the hard way, is that you can never break the cycle for someone else, they have to want it for themselves.  I went into the recovery from my eating disorder with the intent of doing it for “my husband”.  I didn’t like the fact that my eating disorder hurt him and was willing to finally do something about it “for him”. The problem was, it was all a lie.  I started saying what people wanted to hear.  I started binge eating when alone. I started to feel worse about myself than I had before I decided to “get help”.  I even quit seeing a counselor stating “it was time for me to do it on my own”.  Truly, I just didn’t want to face the eating disorder nor was I ready to give it up. It was my security blanket and I was holding on…..TIGHT!

But Thursdays are my day to remember that we all have bad habits.  We all need to focus on something and whatever that something is, we can become healthier without it.  My security blanket was not keeping me secure, it was smothering me.  Sucking the very life out of me that I so desperately want to have.

What is holding you back from HEALTHY? If the answer is “ME”, now is the time to step to the side and allow the healing process to healthy begin.  For you it may be a cigarette, for me it is negative body image but for both of us it is killing us!  I am not a quitter and I will not quit on ME now.

Join the conservation at http://www.facebook.com/couch2healthy

About iltyp4u

I would like to introduce myself to you. My name is Angel. On the surface I look very successful and happy. I have married my soul mate, I have one daughter and two beautiful grandchildren, and I own/operate a successful at-home business. But, I do have a skeleton in my closet and his name is TED. I know that many of you also have some form of this skeleton, and my hope is that in my recovery, I can help at least one other person through recovery. Who or what is TED you ask? TED is the name that I have given to my Eating Disorder. If you or someone you know suffers from an eating disorder, I hope that you/they find this blog helpful. Please check back for updates about my progress/struggles. Also, feel free to comment on your progress. Follow me on twitter: @iltyp4u Follow me on FB: www.facebook.com/triumphfromted
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

