Gratitude

About a month ago I was asked by a friend to make a gratitude list of at least 10 things that I am grateful for.  Of course my husband, daughter and grandkids were at the top of the list.  After that though, making the list was a little more difficult.  I was trying to not just fill it up with people, even though I am grateful for my parents, siblings, etc.

So when Couch 2 Healthy’s Positive Attribute Friday was Gratitude, I decided today would be a good day to revisit that list.  I have learned that it is easy to be grateful when things seem to be going our way – we make all the green lights on the way to work, we get a parking spot close to the store (rockstar parking as we like to call it) or we find some money in the jeans we wore last week.  I think the struggle is to be grateful for things when they are not going our way – we struggle from addiction, we find out our best friend was talking about us behind our back, we didn’t get that promotion that we knew we were a shoe-in for.  When we can be grateful on these not-so-good days is when we have accomplished something.

We have all heard of the phrase Gratitude is an Attitude.  I believe Gratitude is a choice. And remember when we make a choice for 30 days, it becomes a  habit.  Yep even with gratitudes.  When we consciously practice being grateful for the people, situations and resources around us we begin to attract better relationships and results.  Removing negativity from my world has helped me recognize the positive attributes that I have always possessed but never allowed myself to see before.

About iltyp4u

I would like to introduce myself to you. My name is Angel. On the surface I look very successful and happy. I have married my soul mate, I have one daughter and two beautiful grandchildren, and I own/operate a successful at-home business. But, I do have a skeleton in my closet and his name is TED. I know that many of you also have some form of this skeleton, and my hope is that in my recovery, I can help at least one other person through recovery. Who or what is TED you ask? TED is the name that I have given to my Eating Disorder. If you or someone you know suffers from an eating disorder, I hope that you/they find this blog helpful. Please check back for updates about my progress/struggles. Also, feel free to comment on your progress. Follow me on twitter: @iltyp4u Follow me on FB: www.facebook.com/triumphfromted
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

