Another First

In our lifetime, we get to have many firsts ~ like our first step, first tooth, or first word.  Many of our “firsts” come in our early childhood and sadly, we do not even remember these occurring.  So to have “firsts” as an adult is very important to me.

Over the last year and a half, I have made it my mission to Triumph From TED and in turn truly experience the “firsts” that I am proud of.  I have been weighed down by this eating disorder for so long that I know I want to break free, but sometimes it is the behavior that I want to return to because it feels “right” to me.  But through my recovery, I am learning to distance myself not only physically but mentally from this eating disorder.

The only way I know how to do this is to keep having firsts.  Since December 16, 2011, I have had many:

My first visit to my counselor (she said I was not crazy)

My first 5K

My first day I was truly proud of myself for my achievements

My first 8K

My first day not weighing myself (thank you for the pic that you gave me)

My first Half Marathon

My first Triathlon

And if you think that any of these accomplishments have come easy, you are definitely wrong.  There have been setbacks but I am learning to get up and try again. The first day I committed to my recovery, I set a goal for myself.  I never knew if I would truly get there and part of me wanted it to be unattainable so that I could fail (that was my mindset back then).

Now a year and a half later, I have learned 3 important things about myself.

1)    I am not fast, but I will finish!

2)    I have a lot of self-doubt, but I will never quit on myself!

3)    I have an uphill battle with TED, but eventually I will get to run down!

So today, my first is going to lead me to this goal!  I know it is not the end of my recovery but just a high point to help me get through the rest.

TODAY was the FIRST day of TRAINING for my FIRST MARATHON!

About iltyp4u

I would like to introduce myself to you. My name is Angel. On the surface I look very successful and happy. I have married my soul mate, I have one daughter and two beautiful grandchildren, and I own/operate a successful at-home business. But, I do have a skeleton in my closet and his name is TED. I know that many of you also have some form of this skeleton, and my hope is that in my recovery, I can help at least one other person through recovery. Who or what is TED you ask? TED is the name that I have given to my Eating Disorder. If you or someone you know suffers from an eating disorder, I hope that you/they find this blog helpful. Please check back for updates about my progress/struggles. Also, feel free to comment on your progress. Follow me on twitter: @iltyp4u Follow me on FB: www.facebook.com/triumphfromted
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Another First

  1. runner1313 says:

    And this journey will be just as challenging but so worth the effort. Good luck!

Leave a Reply

