Interval, Tempo, Long

INTERVAL, TEMPO, LONG

Guess what I am doing?  I have completed my first week of training for my marathon.  I can already see that there will be many struggles for me during this 16-week training, mainly my schedule.

After much discussion with fellow runners, I have settled into a 3-run a week training schedule.  I am supposed to be fitting in 30-45 minutes of cross-training two days a week.  So far, I have done my runs but I have not been successful at working the cross training into my schedule.  So how do marathoners do it?   How do they set aside time in their busy schedules to fit in all the training. 

Hopefully before week 16 I can tell you how I do it.  With my busy schedule of two fulltime jobs (luckily one is more full-time than the other), managing Couch 2 Healthy and handling my life as a mother, grandmother and wife ~ I am struggling. 

Now for the positives.  My intervals  (first time ever running them) went smoothly.  I am excited to do this again.  My 3-mile tempo run was not as successful as I had hoped.  It made me begin to worry about my long run (10 miles).  So Saturday I show up nervous about the 10.  Within a few hundred yards I was sure I would not complete.  It was then I turned to Jim and said, “I’m going to run a mile and walk a quarter”.  Once I had the plan, I was better.  I knew that I could run a mile ~ I’ve done that a million times.  By the time I reached 5 miles, I couldn’t believe I was still able to keep going.  At Mile 8 though, my body was done.  Every time I would lift my right leg to step forward, my foot was falling forward causing me to drag my toe and almost stumble. Back to walking I went.  Because I do not want to give up, I try to run again.  Within ten steps I am in full cramp, crashing to the ground and ripping off the shoes trying to straighten my toes.  That was it, my body was done.  I walked the last 2 miles but I finished.

So tomorrow we start the cycle over……wish me luck!

About iltyp4u

I would like to introduce myself to you. My name is Angel. On the surface I look very successful and happy. I have married my soul mate, I have one daughter and two beautiful grandchildren, and I own/operate a successful at-home business. But, I do have a skeleton in my closet and his name is TED. I know that many of you also have some form of this skeleton, and my hope is that in my recovery, I can help at least one other person through recovery. Who or what is TED you ask? TED is the name that I have given to my Eating Disorder. If you or someone you know suffers from an eating disorder, I hope that you/they find this blog helpful. Please check back for updates about my progress/struggles. Also, feel free to comment on your progress. Follow me on twitter: @iltyp4u Follow me on FB: www.facebook.com/triumphfromted
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

